Reverse Pyramid Training

So it was time to switch up my workout routine and I was extremely excited to try out reverse pyramid training. For those of you that don’t know it’s a highly effective training technique that utilizes a downward sequence in weight, reps or sets to help maximize any weight lifting goals. This type of workout is great as it creates an intense routine as the muscles get overloaded.

Now I am only trying to tone up my muscles not to get bulky and I believed that this technique would help aid me in achieving this as it helps assist in the development of greater endurance – something that is great for people who want to gauge their progress gradually.

If you are thinking about using the reverse pyramid technique be honest with yourself. Don’t take it easy push your hardest, go to that weight you think you can do reps on even if it is only one and gradually drop it back down. Push yourself, realize that you are far more capable than you probably give yourself credit for. Leaving a workout knowing that you have given it all, drenched in sweat and muscles quivering = one of the best feelings.

So far using the reverse pyramid technique I have done a leg and back day and I am in LOVE with it. I am leaving workouts knowing that I have pushed myself completely and waking up with ridiculously sore muscles the next day has me liking it even more. It’s so different from supersets (where I was doing small weights with skipping in between) so I am definitely not bored of getting out and going to the gym. I feel that this regime will be extremely beneficial for the goals I am trying to achieve. The feeling when you drop down a weight, it’s like a relief to the system and give that set an extra boost to get you through to the end. 

I will be doing this for the next three weeks and have recorded what my maximum weights are for things like chest press, lunges, and non-assisted pull ups and can’t wait to see if these change over the three weeks!

 

x

Leave a Reply

