Fill Yourself with Love

I used to view self-love as something that meant we were being arrogant or egocentric but lately I have come to realize that true self love means to care about and take responsibility for oneself. Self love differs from narcissism as I believe that self love is not about an admiration of our physical or mental attributes but rather an understanding of our strengths and weaknesses; being honest about who we really are.

As I began to love myself I freed myself of anything that is no good for my health – food, people, things, situations, and everything that drew me down and away from myself. At first I called this attitude a healthy egoism. Today I know it is “Love of Oneself” – Charlie Chaplin

At the end of the day knowing how to love yourself is extremely important. It is something that is at the core of our wellbeing, joy, self-empowerment and the ability to create and enjoy the kind of life you truly want. I have learnt that it’s almost impossible to enjoy happiness if you are not at peace with yourself.  

Knowing yourself means that you are no longer plagued by indecision and self doubt. You are able to view yourself in a positive way meaning that self hatred which can cripple you in every area of your life can be abolished.

As I gained a deeper understanding of holistic health I realized that I needed to look at the people and things that I have in my own life. I realized that there were things in my life that were actually slowly bringing me down. So I decided that I would let go of all these negative things in my life. I think I was surprised at the sense of relief I got after doing this, I felt lighter and happier in a way. I have found that I now have a more positive attitude which has meant that I have approached situations feeling far more confident in myself because I have become more aware of my strengths and weaknesses.

I challenge you to look at your own lives. Are there things that you should be freeing yourself from so that you are able to love yourself?

 Image

x

Leave a Reply

