No Regrets

I have a mantra that I say to myself before I go to sleep at night – if I died tomorrow would I regret anything from today? Maybe this is a little bit morbid but I believe that this has helped me change my life.

Just over two years ago a friend of mine died in a car crash; she wasn’t even 21 yet. This was a massive wake up call to me, it made me realise that time is something that we are unable to buy from shop. That our dreams, friends, wishes and happiness are all things that we are in charge of and need to actively seek out. That it is important not to put things off until tomorrow because what if you never got the chance to do it?

I hear from people who are stuck in jobs they dislike, they have dreams that they aspire to follow but are too nervous to actually go out and do it. Perhaps I am naive in thinking that everything we do has a purpose and that everything will eventually slot into place but so far my life has worked out that way. Our struggles are things that will only make us stronger and that pushing ourselves outside of our comfort zone is not only good but necessary to ensure that we live life to the full.

I was once told a quote by Hunter S. Thompson….

“Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming “Wow! What a Ride!”

Now this quote was used to try and convince me to not go sugar free but I saw so much more in it. Over the last two years I have done more than I ever thought I would; there have been some amazing thrills, experiences, a lot of laughter and tears all because I decided to step outside of my safety bubble.

There are so many things that I want to do but when death does finally arrive he will not find a reluctant victim who is sorry to leave this world but a grateful youth who has been awed by the opportunity to experience this life, this great adventure.

 

x

 

 

Leave a Reply

