Feeding My Feelings

We need to ensure that we have a healthy relationship with food. Food can and should be enjoyed as when it is eaten mindfully it actually brings health to our bodies. Unfortunately this isn’t always the case.

Emotional eating is something that I struggle with. I eat when I am stressed, I eat when I’m bored and I eat when I’m sad. I have come to recognize that my emotions can cause me to eat foods that are low quality and high calorie which, in the end, only make me feel worse that before. I have begun to realize that instead of turning to food to feel good I can rely on other avenues.

Keeping myself busy and distracting myself when I feel like gorging myself on chocolate and ice cream because I’m feeling sad or stressed is something that I believe I will always struggle with. Despite being (mostly) sugar free for the past month when I faced a week at university full of exams and assignment due dates my fall back was to bake a cake.

The best starting point with this is to look at why you are hungry and see if its being cause by emotional hunger or physical hunger.

Image

If you have concluded that it is just emotional hunger then here are some ways to beat the feelings feeding…

  • Watch a movie
  • Play a board game
  • Go for a long walk
  • Pick up the phone and talk to your friends
  • Listen to your favourite music and have a dance around
  • Do some yoga
  • Take a hot shower

There are lots more avenues that you can do at this link, in fact there are 100. http://www.coachcalorie.com/feel-good-without-food/

Image

Emotional eating will never really make you feel better, only doing the things that you love can do that

x

One thought on “Feeding My Feelings

Leave a Reply

