That Four Letter Cuss Word…

Sometimes the word ‘forgiveness’ can seem like a four-lettered cuss word. It seems that most people find it really hard to let go of people, memories and situations that have hurt us. I believe that holding on to these kinds of grudges are going to create prison for ourselves.

It is important to be able to liberate ourselves from our hurt in order to gain inner peace and to be holistically healthy. Now I’m not saying that as soon as you forgive someone that you should invite them over and instantly become best friends but holding a grudge is repeatedly bringing anger and bitterness into every aspect of your life. You can become so wrapped up in the past that you forget that you actually need to enjoy what is happening in the present.

Forgiveness is making the decision to let go of the resentment you hold, the act that hurt you is still present but forgiveness can help you focus on other positive parts of your life. It’s not about accepting or dismissing what someone has done but rather setting yourself free so that the past has no longer got control over your thoughts or the way you feel.

It isn’t just people and situations that we need to learn to forgive but actually our bodies as well. There have been times in my life were I feel like my body is betraying me. I am detoxing and yet something that I am eating is still making me slightly bloated and sick. I feel that my body is letting me down by not realizing that all of the foods I am putting into it are actually good for it. Today I am trying to let this go and re-frame the issue. I am now thinking of body as a kind of ‘professor’ and try and figure out what my body is actually trying to teach me.

 

Image

Forgiveness is never going to be easy but it is definitely something that we all need to work on.

 

x

 

 

 

One thought on “That Four Letter Cuss Word…

  1. Ahh, this post was so perfect for me right now! I have the hardest time letting go of things in the past and I always get myself so worked up about things that really don’t matter at all anymore. It was really nice to read this, and made me realize that I really do need to work on that a lot more.

Leave a Reply

