The Benefits of Exercise

Having endometriosis and polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) means that I am constantly on the look out for ideas that others have found worked and one that kept popping up was simply getting out there and doing some exercise.

Research has shown that doing medium-high intensity exercise like running and cycling can help lesson the symptoms. Regular exercise helps to reduce estrogen and prostaglandin level – two hormones that are released during our cycles. Yoga and Pilates can also be used to stretch the pelvic tissues and muscles that can be bound together by endometriosis, not only that but it helps to reduce stress which can also aggravate inflammation in the body more.

With PCOS exercise has been shown to help with our insulin sensitivity and cholesterol. When we exercise the glucose (sugars) are taken from the blood and moved to the muscles, this lowers the need for insulin at that time. When we are able to effectively manage insulin then we are able to manage the testosterone in our body, the cause of our PCOS symptoms.

Exercise and Me

Now I am a slight exercise nut. I admit that it is probably a slight addiction but the benefits of getting out there and being regularly active are just too much to ignore. I try to do some kind of physical activity at least 5 times a week. I mix this up with both high intensity aerobic exercise and strength training as well.

My best advice when jumping on the exercise train is to simply start and stick to it. Find something you enjoy doing! I started off doing a lot of classes that were offered at the gym like step and pump. These classes meant that I was surrounded by like minded people that helped motivate me to keep going and helped when I had no idea where to find equipment. I also bought Jillian Michaels DVD, “30 Day Shred,” which allowed me to do a 20 minute workout at home.

Any questions you have about my workouts feel free to ask

 

x

Leave a Reply

